I Got a Little Lost

Today we left in the morning to travel to Tech junction to attend a meeting. There was me, Spencer, Amber, and Regina. No way four of us would find a spot on the Tro Tro. So they told me this was my first adventure on my own. Pretty crappy adventure if you ask me. I would be traveling a few miles up the road by my self, only to meet back up with them again. I got in the tro tro and off we went.

            The tro tro was packed and most people were usually going to the Tech station to pick up another tro tro in another direction or to attend the Tech university there. I have been to Tech a few times before so there will be no problem identifying it on my own now. About 20 minutes down the road, I started to think that I might have missed my exit. I had my backpack with my computer so I didn’t want to ask and look like a tourist and be targeted. After awhile longer on the road I didn’t recognize anything on the road and I pretty much knew in my gut that I had missed my exit. I asked the guy next to me and he just gestured forward. Oh, I am probably just nervous and thought we had gotten there already. There was a lot of traffic too. Then, we got to Adum, the big city part of souther Kumasi. I absolutely know I have gone too far now. Great…. I got off the tro tro and walked to the other side of the street. I wasn’t scared, just frusterated for messing up such a simple task. As I was walking down the street I got the same sort of feeling that I got when I was with Joseph and Charles in Nema. I just accepted that I was that there was nothing I could do about it now. I might as well just enjoy it and certainly get rid of any look or feeling of being scared. I’m sure people can read that as if it were on my forehead. I became relaxed and started to pass close attention to the things on the side of the street. There were a ton of vendors, selling everything you could imagine. I say cow legs sticking out of a pot. There were children begging me for money. People from all over yelling, “Obroni!” I got to the end of the street and waited for the half filled tro tros to come down and pick me up. It is a bad idea to pick them up in the crowd because then you most likely will be sitting there waiting for the to recruit people. I got in the tro tro and was determined to get of at Tech station this time. I was sure I had missed the meeting at this point. Maybe I could catch the end of it.

            This time I asked a woman sitting next to me and she was very nice to point out when we were at Tech Junction. I probably still would have missed it if she hadn’t spoken up. I got out and looked around. I say a large building with a bauge color tiled top that came up into a pyramid shape. I won’t ever miss this landmark again. I got off and walked onto the KNUST campus. I wasn’t really sure where I was headed to find them, but maybe they would see the only white person walking and looking around like they were totally lost. After a few hours of exploring the campus I decided to head back. I walked out of the campus and a long a long narrow road. There was no side walk of course, but there was a dirt path along the road. I got back to Tech junction and was very thirsty and hungry. I asked some woman how much for a bundle of bananas and she said three cedis. That’s way too overpriced. I just got some the other day and they were a cedi and some change. You might think that I should have done the 3 cedi because that is still only $1.50, but that is the tourist trap they set. You can’t compare prices here to back in the states. Actually you can because that is a good indication for something overpriced. I should have bargained a little bit, but I didn’t have the patience then. I could also use my money to support the local town around the headquarters. I caught a Tro Tro back to Kentinkrono. This stop I knew well, so I would be able to do it without asking anyone. It was honestly still hard to identify, but I did and called to the mate to pull over. He said “yes Kentinkrono,” and didn’t seem to understand I wanted to get out. We just kept driving up the road. Now it was just getting very frusterating because I was obviously doing something very wrong. I calmed myself down and tried to remember I had only been here for less than two weeks. I got out down the road and started to walk back to the town where I am staying. I got to the main intersection and found a woman selling oranges. I bought three for a cedi. Since the oranges here are too tough to peel, I had her shave it down with a knife and create a small flap on the top. I grabbed the first orange and squeezed the juice out of he top and it felt like angels were singing from my taste buds. They were much sweeter than oranges back home. I also realized then that I hadn’t eaten since breakfast and it was now 1:00 PM. And I also realize that because of the Larium, the Angels weren’t in the outfield helping Danny Glover’s team.

            On my way home from the adventure I realized how much fun it was to get lost. It’s pretty much impossible to actually get fully lost because there are always public transport pickups and I knew that going to Tech Junction or Kentinkrono would get me home. That is if I could identify one of those… Actually getting lost like today is really the fastest way for me to map an area in my head. On my way walking home, some kids were throwing rocks at me. I wasn’t really feeling the Ghanaian love this particular day. Well there will always be jerks from any where in the world. It would be a mistake to judge an entire population based off of some bad apples. I got home and honestly felt a big exasperated. Adam was still hanging around the house and insisted he make me lunch. I thanked him and recharged. I got my internet modem set up, which is why I was able to update my blog. For the nighttime, we were scheduled to go-cart and eat apparently really good fish. Suddenly it started pouring rain. It was probably second to how hard it rained one night when I was in Nicaragua. I’ve still never seen rain like that before. It looked like a waterfall was coming out of the sky. It was hard to find the break in the drops. So, we did what all Ghanaians do and we decided to hide. We tried to wait out the rain, but it wasn’t looking good. Finally the rain slowed down and he went to the road to pick up a tro tro to get to Ejisu. They told me to take a tro tro on my own again, but gave me a phone this time. I got a defective phone, so I am still waiting to return it and get a better one in town. About half way to Ejisu, it started to pour rain again. All the vendors were crammed into their wooden market stands. One of the vendors insisted that the four of us come into their shelter with them. We were basically shoulder to shoulder. I felt very relieved that these people would be so nice as to invite Obronis into their shelter and not even try to sell us anything. That just proves that there are still many good people in Ghana. Then we went to a nearby restaurant to meet Spencer’s Ghanaian friend and to get a bite to eat while we were out of the rain. As we were sitting there I was watching the cars and people go by. Mostly just cars because the people would run from shelter to shelter, if they were brave. The road was almostly completely flooded. The water came up to about half way up the tires of the cars that passed by. And those were the cars in the middle of the road. The edge by the curb was even deeper. We then left to walk up the road to our restaurant destination. As cars passed us on the road they made big wakes in the water that would wash right over the curb and passed where we were walking on the sidewalk. We got to the restaurant and all ordered Talapia. They served some mixed vegetable, peppiea (Ghanaian English for pepper), and an entire fish. The fish looked exactly like it had when it was alive, maybe a little more brown from the grill. We dug in, with our fingers of course. I grabbed the head and ate the eyeballs. Then I pushed my finger through the cavity and ate the brain, just to see what it tasted like. It was all very good and was actually where all of the important vitamins are. The rest of the fish was excellent as well.

            We got back home and watched the Daily Show when John first came back. He clearly hadn’t lost any talent since being away for so long. We put on the next episode, but I was so tired I just turned over in my bed and was out within the minute.

One thought on “I Got a Little Lost

  1. You handled getting lost really well. I hope you have the description and locations of those kids that were throwing rocks at you because I’m coming over there to beat them up!

    You ate the eyeballs and the brains of the fish?! I’m about to barf!

Stop Thinking and Write It Down!

