Meeting Spencer and a Familiar Mate

Monday I have my last Malaria medication dosage at night, but I feel completely better in the morning. Daniel stressed to me that this would happen and I that I need to continue with the medicine to make sure the plasmodium isn’t hiding in dormancy somewhere. Like I said before, I don’t care how good I’m feeling, if it said to take the pills for three days to treat something like Malaria, then that’s what I’m doing. So on the schedule today is to meet Spencer in Ejisu to get some program materials for Wonoo and Antoa. Well I start on my usual path walking down the road toward the junction town. I pass by the small town between Antoa and the junction town. As I enter the town I can already hear the distant, Broni! I have met a lot of these people in this town, so maybe they are just peaking out to say hello. Well only one woman speaks up and she asks me why I don’t get a car. I explain that in the time I would wait for a tro tro, I can walk to my destination. I’m not sure how to say that in Twi yet, so I don’t think she understood. I pass through the town and greet some elder men at the edge. They really get a kick out of my Twi. I’m getting good at the greetings now, so I can lay them on in rapid fire. They don’t get much to say because as I leave earshot they are still laughing. Then I pass by a group of older women. About half of them are carrying large bowls on their heads and the rest look like they’re there for moral support. They are all wearing black. Most women, especially the older ones, always seem to be dressed in vibrant colors, except for when they are mourning. Maybe not though, they seemed pretty happy to me. I pass them and am now continuing on the road right before the junction town. A tro tro pulls over in front of me and the mate gets out. He asks me if I’m going to Wonoo and I tell him I’m headed to Bonwire (pronounced bonweray). That’s the town right before Ejisu, so if I get there a car to Ejisu will be easy to find. He keeps saying something that I can’t really understand. I ask him to repeat himself. Then, he puts his back the tro tro and starts making really weird faces at me. I can’t help but start laughing, I feel like I’m back in California hanging out with Hunter and Ian again. I walk up to the car and the guy in the passenger seat turns around in exasperation that they are going to the junction town and will drop me off there. I look at the mate to thank him and realize he is the same one that winked at me on the Tro Tro from Kumasi to Antoa and then in Antoa asked me to make sure I knew where I was going. I sat in the seat right in front of him and the whole car was bustling from the activity. A big group in the back was laughing, I’m sure at something I had done. I’m fairly used to that by now. The mate taped me on the shoulder and asked if I am all right. I said of course and thanked him again for stopping to pick me up. Then, he tapped me again and told me not to worry because the people in the car were laughing at how bad is English was. Then, as we pulled up to the junction town he told me that he isn’t going to charge me. He told me to get out and pointed at the spot to wait for the next cars coming. I can’t believe how nice this guy has been, now multiple times, to me. I think some of these Ghanaians are some of the nicest people I’ve ever run into. That’s saying a lot living next to the Huntley family. They were the perfect neighbors that would put on the Fourth of July shows and then the next week come over with an oven fresh apple pie because they accidently made too much. Anyway, baffled at the continued generosity I wait where the mate told me. After about five minutes I get bored and start to walk to the next town. There are very few splits in the road, so it’s very hard to get lost.

 

I get to the new town and faintly recognize it. The only time I’ve been two times with Adam and Spencer and then when I moved in. Both times we took a shared taxi and I wasn’t watching as closely as when I walk. As I get to the edge of town there are these two young men in front of me. They steal this girls pink umbrella and run across the street. I stop and watch for a few minutes. They start dancing and singing and it looks like they’re performing a Nathan… uhh the guy who played Timone… Broadway play. I’m further along the town now and I hang a left at the roundabout. If I went right I would need a machete to get through the bush. I told you it’s pretty easy to find the way. As I walk down the main street I hear the usual Broni. It’s actually Obroni, but most don’t pronounce the O. Okay, this time is anything but usual. There must be a hundred people out on the street. Everywhere in a 100 meter distance from me completely stopped. People stopped right in the middle of sweeping, talking, and spanking their children. I am normally used to this, but not to this scale. I lose my patience a bit here and just don’t get why a white guy in their town is so strange. I calm down and get over my frustration, but I still don’t feel anywhere close to comfortable. These people were now doing more than staring. They were putting down what they were doing and lining up to look at me. As I get to the other side of town these young men tell me to wait with them for the tro tro. I gave them my shpeal about walking and picking one up. Then they said we had enough to get a shared taxi. I agreed and we backtracked a bit to the taxi on the side of the road. Now that I’m walking back down the street, which seems to get the interest of those few that didn’t look before. We stop by the taxi and I’m just thinking of leaving now. I honestly feel like I’m offending the town people by being here. This is much more extreme attention then I’ve ever had before. I hear a loud Broni behind me and there is a group of about 30 young children standing right behind the taxi. They were all staring at me and now saying anything. That’s probably the weirdest part of this experience. Most of the people in this town aren’t interacting with me, they are just staring. The young men agree that we should just walk and before we leave the town the Tro Tro picks us up.

 

I meet with Spencer and we have a great talk about Expo. He is very good at making sure I’m comfortable with my situation. We get logistics out of the way and just catch up. Then, we talk about our company plan for the future. We talk about different ways to get a sustainable method of making money and expanding the program. I really enjoyed the conversation and can’t wait to start developing some of our ideas. I leave with the program money and head back home for dinner. 

2 thoughts on “Meeting Spencer and a Familiar Mate

  1. Maybe you farted and everyone in the village smelled it and just stopped to stare at the person who could do such a thing. Or maybe it was the Larium making you think you got dressed this morning when you were actually walking around naked. Glad you are feeling better.

Stop Thinking and Write It Down!

