Last Day in Kwahu and Back Home in Accra

On Easter Sunday, our last day, we had a slow morning. I really enjoyed the slow times here because I could sit on the balcony and look over the beautiful view from their town. I could see something like seven of the other towns and all the way to the edge of the valley at the top of the mountain. There is a constant breeze and the weather is cool, so I’m soaking up the rare time in Ghana when I’m not sweating. Some of their friends come over and invite us all to breakfast. This morning I’ve been calling my colleagues at the beach, but I’m not having any luck. There is terrible reception on Butre beach, so hopefully they will call me back at some point before I set off to meet them.

We all leave for their friends house, which is basically a huge mansion. We go up to their veranda balcony place and take a seat. Al of the seats are lined up against one of the walls with tables between every few chairs. I think it’s funny to see rich Ghanaian people’s living room set up. This doesn’t hold true for many nice places in Accra, but any in Kumasi or smaller it does. It seems that they don’t know how to bring people close together and create an intimate atmosphere. As we’re sitting in the assembly line, we have to lean forward to talk to anyone other than the one right next to us and I think you can already see the issue if multiple people try to lean and talk at once. Soon after, some of us move our chairs to make two rows and a better inclusive atmosphere. Then they pour wine, into my glass first for me to taste the wine. I go into auto pilot from seeing my parent drink wine so many times in a group. I swirl, sniff, swirl, sip, and swoosh, all while holding the glass by the stem. The one pouring the glass asks the group why there is even one person at the table who tastes the wine and they all laugh talking about how silly it is and how people have different tastes. I open my mouth to say “well, actually it’s because…” and then quickly bite my tongue realizing that telling them about corked or spoiled wine would not be the best way to make new friends. I think they’re a few trips to the vineyard short of having the routines down, but I’m not a snob!

We finish eating and everyone decides that they’re leaving today. Half expecting some thing like this, I already packed in the morning. After everyone else finished packing, we leave and I get in the car with Junior, his sister, and Charles senior. Junior gets off at Nkawkaw and I hop in the front seat for a nice relaxing ride back to Accra.

The ride goes very quickly through some bad roads, forest, and a lot of roadside vendors and before I know it we are back in Accra. I tried to call my colleagues again, but no one has answered or called me back. The oldest brother of the men gets off at my stop and I find out that he’s going to the same exact town that I’m going to meet the Janneys. I decide that I won’t continue going to the beach because it’s already sunset and the beach would be about 5 more hours away. It’s dark by the time we get to West Adenta, where the Janney’s live, so he walks me all the way to their house to make sure I get there safely.

Back at the Janney’s house I get settled in and greet everyone and tell them about my Kwahu adventure. It’s really good to be back at their house again because by now it feels like my proper home. As I’m settling down Jennifer held everyone with supper until I got there. We all ate rice and this amazing stew. It’s seriously the best stew I’ve had since being here. The taste is perfect and there are big chunks of vegetables to make me feel healthy. After dinner we sat and chat for a bit and then I go to bed. I want to sleep on my decision about the beach and the rest of my vacation and make a decision in the morning.

Stop Thinking and Write It Down!

