My Last Laos Post

The last few weeks have been a frenzy of activity preparing for my departure from PoP and Laos. The office had a Bawsee for me, the programs team took me out to a special thank you dinner, everyday at work I’ve been racing through last minute projects and preparing for my role’s transition, and also outside of work I’ve been preparing for my next adventures.

Tonight will be my last night at Sakura, as tomorrow after work I will begin to head down to Bangkok. I’ll be taking several overnight buses to Bangkok, where I will then stay with someone on the couch surfer network. Finally, I’ll take a plane from Bangkok to Brussels, where I’ll meet my mom for the start of a wonderful vacation.

Next time I update on here I’ll fill in any adventures along the way and then start my new segment, under the China heading, from Brussels. I won’t actually be in China yet, but to me it’s just really the start of that whole new adventure.   



Of course I’d discover this a week before I leave. There’s a woman right outside of Sakura who makes fresh banana chips and fried banana breading.

 
Here’s some of the food from my Bawsee. The closest dish consists of fried vegetables with some kind of orange sauce. Next up is a stir fried dish with frog meat, mmm. Top left is a kind of homage curry-like dish that has heart potatoes and big pieces of meat. Then the soup to the right has some kind of white floaty thing and seaweed-like vegetable floating at the top.

 
Of course there’s kareokee after all the dancing. I normally go home before this point in the party, but this time I stayed. People are mostly just drinking and singing, with no one left on the dance floor. This is Bay. He’s the admin/HR/finance manager of the office. He has a heart made of gold and a goofy personality that I’ll miss a lot.


There’s one last birthday in the office before I leave and you can see where my focus is stuck. It’ll be the last time I’ll eat the delicious carrot cake made by a local bakery here.

 
Here’s the dinner the program’s team held for me. I had to do something to offset the seriousness that comes with selfies here in Laos.

 
We all had multiple of those sugary cocktail drinks, beer, and more food then I thought could possibly fit in my stomach. By the end my stomach was sending me emergency signals to stop or it was going to hit the ejection button.

 
One thing people do in Laos to be polite is to come over and hand you a piece of food. I remember this first happening at a school opening celebration. It was strange at first, but I learned to appreciate the generousity that drove the action. Some of the programs staff came over to make these kinds of offerings to me during my celebration dinner. A few of them had been drinking quite a bit and came over with spoon fills of ice cream. I was laughing so hard I nearly inhaled the ice cream. I’m really going to miss this team.

Stop Thinking and Write It Down!

